Saturday, August 6, 2011

Anyone else hate when a certain group of people try to claim Native American Heritage, but deny the genocide?

If I have to have my blood yzed and prove my lineage via government doents in order to be counted by the federal government as a "Native American", then so does everybody else who wants to claim my heritage. There are so few of us left that I personally find it offensive when somebody just decides it is cool sounding to say they are part native american and begin a lie that will perpetuate through generations of people desperate to take on this identity without the baggage that anybody really of this heritage has to deal with. People forget that the genocide continues up to this generation. It wasnt so long ago that Native Americans couldn't **** in the same toilet as whites, or even go to the same hospitals. Even more recent were the children stolen from their parents by white people who sought to "civilize them". This practice ended in the 70's, about a decade before we were allowed to practice our religions without fear of going to prison. The emotional toll that comes of being an oppressed people and surviving a genocide is far greater than just watching dances with wolves a few times, putting on a costume and making up a cherokee grandma who remains a nameless figure in your family tree.

No comments:

Post a Comment